LIU FANG-NAN ELECTED AS PRESIDENT OF TKU ALUMNI ASSOCIATION IN KAOHSIUNG CITY

The TKU Alumni Association in Kaohsiung City elected its new president and vice-president on February 21, 2004. Liu Fang-nan, former vice-president, becomes the new president, and Chou Ling-wen the vice-president. Their swearing-ins were witnessed by TKU dignitaries and alumni.

Chaired by the incumbent president Dai Te-ming, the 17th general meeting of TKU Alumni Association in Kaohsiung City was held in Ch' ing-t' ai Restaurant, with the participation of over 300 alumni. The assembly elected Liu Fang-nan and Chou Ling-wen as the new president and vice-president.

TKU Founder Clement C. P. Chang and other dignitaries of the university were the guests of honor at the meeting to present certificates of office to the newly elected presidents of alumni association. The Founder presented the certificate to Mr. Hou Deng-jien, president of World Federation of TKU Alumni; TKU president Chang Horng-jinh to Mr. Li Hsienrong, president of ROC Alumni Association; and Vice-president for Administrative Affairs Flora C. I. Chang to president Liu Fang-nan. Vice-president for Academic Affairs Feng Chao-kang presented a medal to Mr. Dai Te-ming in appreciation of his service as president of the Alumni Association in Kaohsiung City. The handing-over of the presidency from Mr. Dai to Mr. Liu was witnessed by Dr. Chen Ya-horng, a trustee of TKU.

Student representatives of the Kaohsiung-area Alumni Association also came to the meeting to present bouquets to President Dai in appreciation of his donations every year sponsoring diverse events such as freshmen orientation, transport service for students returning home, and cultural exhibition. Students hoped that the new president would continue to support the activities of the Kaohsiung-area Alumni Association. The students' appeal was answered by Mr. Liu and the Alumni Association of Kaohsiung County, who donated NT\$10,000 each to sponsor the cultural exhibition to be held in March 2004. The President of China Steel Corporation, Mr. Lin Wen-yuan (who graduated at 1975, Irrigation Engineering), also promised NT\$100,000 in support of this event.

Other VIPs at the general meeting included Chow Hsin-min, Secretary-General of the Board of Trustees, Chen Min-nan, Director of the Office of Alumni Services and Resources Development, Jin Chi-tong, President of the Alumni Association in Pingtung County, and Chang Chin-min, President of the Alumni Association of Kaohsiung County. Also present at the meeting were distinguished alumni including Chang Tsung-jen, President of National Sun Yat-sen University, Legislators Jiang Ch'i-wen and Huang Chao-shun, Chuang Ch'i-ming, President of Kaohsiung Municipal Open University, Chen Mao-hsiung, member of the Examination Yuan, and Lin Yao-wen, Director of Kaohsiung City's Department of Information.

2010/09/27