Tamkang Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang Awarded Honorary Doctorate in Business Administration by Reitaku University

Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang, accompanied by Vice President for International Affairs Hsiao-Chuan Chen, Chair of the Department of Japanese Pei-Ching Tsai, and Presidential Office Secretary Charles Hsiang-Chuan Chang, visited Reitaku University—Tamkang University's sister school in Japan on May 15. In the presence of Reitaku University Chairperson Mototaka Hiroike, she was conferred an honorary Doctorate in Business Administration by President Sumitaka Tokunaga. This marks Chairperson Chang's second honorary doctorate, the first awarded in 2008 by Josai University in recognition of her contributions to international education and research.

During the ceremony, President Tokunaga explained that, according to Reitaku University's honorary doctorate regulations, recipients must embody the university's founding philosophy, advance academic and cultural standards, and contribute to national and social development. Chairperson Chang was selected through a formal review process and deemed highly deserving of the honor.

President Tokunaga further noted that Tamkang University is Taiwan's oldest private comprehensive university promoting "Globalization," "Information-oriented education," and "Future-oriented education." In addition to academic excellence, it emphasizes nurturing well-rounded talents with strong communication skills—traits valued by global enterprises. Tamkang's active recruitment of international students demonstrates its outstanding contributions to talent development and national advancement. Reitaku University, grounded in ethics and the "unity of knowledge and virtue" principle, aims to cultivate globally minded individuals with high moral character. "It is our great honor today to bestow this honorary doctorate upon Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang," he added. Following the conferment ceremony, Chairperson Chang delivered a commemorative lecture titled "Shaping Quality Higher Education and Seizing Future Opportunities," warmly attended by over 200

faculty and students. The event concluded with a student representative presenting flowers in appreciation.

Chairperson Chang highlighted that Reitaku University became Tamkang University's third Japanese sister school in 1982 and remains one of its 44 partner institutions, with a history of active exchanges and fruitful collaboration. In 1989, Reitaku even funded the construction of Tamkang's International House, advancing its internationalization efforts. During a visit led by Tamkang University President Keh, the delegation attended the inauguration of the Tamkang Office at the Tam-Rei Center in Japan. Meanwhile, the Reitaku Office of the Tam-Rei Center, currently being prepared on Tamkang's campus, is set to officially open in September, providing a dedicated space for further bilateral collaboration. "Receiving this honorary doctorate is an honor, and I deeply appreciate Reitaku University's recognition," said Chairperson Chang. "Even more, I treasure the profound friendship between our two universities. Like President Tokunaga, I look forward to even closer cooperation and exchange in the future, as we work together toward the continued development and prosperity of both Japan and Taiwan."

2025/06/16



Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang (right) receives the honorary doctorate certificate from Reitaku University President Suminori Tokunaga.

Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang (center) poses for a commemorative photo with Reitaku University Chairperson Mototaka Hiroike (left) and President Suminori Tokunaga (right) after the honorary doctorate



conferment ceremony.



Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang delivered a commemorative speech titled "Shaping Quality Higher Education and Seizing Future Opportunities."

Chairperson Flora Chia-I Chang (2nd from right), Vice President for International Affairs Hsiao-Chuan Chen (1st from right), and their delegation pose for a commemorative photo with Reitaku University Chairperson Mototaka Hiroike (2nd from left), President Suminori Tokunaga (1st from left), and others.

