7 Tamkangians Elected Legislators, with Chien-Ming Ker, Kun-Chi Fu Serving as Whips of 2 Parties

The 11th Legislative Yuan election was held on January 13 (Saturday). 6 alumni of our university were elected as legislators, including Chien-Ming Ker (Graduate Institute of Management Sciences), Kun-Chi Fu (Department of Transportation Management, Graduate Institute of China Studies), Dr. Chih-Wei Chiu (Graduate Institute of Russian), Dr. Ju-Chun Ko (Department of Information and Communication), Dr. Yi-Feng Hsieh (Department of Civil Engineering, formerly known as Pei-Jung Hsieh), Yu-Ching Kuo (Department of French), and Chiao-Hsin Hsu (currently enrolled in the Executive Master's Program of International Affairs and Strategic Studies). They assumed office on February 1. Chien-Ming Ker and Kun-Chi Fu serve as the Caucus Conveners for the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) and the Kuomintang (KMT), respectively.

Chien-Ming Ker has served as a legislator continuously from the 2nd to the 11th terms. He has been the DPP Caucus Convener from the 5th to the 11th terms and is one of the DPP's founding members. He has been re-elected for 10 consecutive terms since 1993, making him the most senior legislator in the Legislative Yuan.

Kun-Chi Fu has served as a legislator for 5 terms, from the 5th to the 7th and from the 10th to the 11th. He has previously held the position of Hualien County Magistrate and served as the Chairman of the Taiwan Cross-Strait Political and Economic Exchange Foundation. His wife, Chen-Wei Hsu, is the current Magistrate of Hualien County.

Dr. Chih-Wei Chiu has been re-elected as a legislator for the 8th to 11th terms, serving 4 consecutive terms in the Kaohsiung constituency. He previously served as the Director-General of the Civil Affairs Bureau in Kaohsiung City. He holds a master's degree from our university, followed by a master's degree from National Taiwan University (NTU) and a Ph.D. from National Sun Yat-sen University.

Yu-Ching Kuo is an actress and host, best known for her role as "萬人美老師" (Ms. Jen-Mei Wan) on the TV show "麻辣鮮師" (Spicy Teacher). In the 2023 election, she was nominated by the DPP as a party-list legislator and was successfully elected. She became the only legislator in this term's election with a background in the entertainment industry.

Dr. Ju-Chun Ko is a KMT party-list legislator. After graduating from our university, he obtained a master's degree in digital media design from Yuan Ze University and a Ph.D. in information networking and multimedia research from NTU. He previously served as the co-founder and CEO of Linkwish Inc.

Dr. Yi-Feng Hsieh is a KMT legislator in the 10th and 11th terms. She has been recognized as an "Excellent Legislator" and a "5-star Outstanding Legislator" and holds a Ph.D. from National Chengchi University.

Chiao-Hsin Hsu has previously served as a Taipei City Councilor, the Chairman of the Kuomintang Youth League, and the spokesperson for political figures such as Hsiu-Chu Hung, Dr. Li-Luan Chu, Dr. Ying-Jeou Ma, and Dr. Lung-Bin Hau. Additionally, she has held positions as the Secretary-General of the United Student Union of North Taiwan, the initiator of the National Security Youth Think Tank, and the Vice Chairman of the International Young Democrat Union.

2024/02/27



The 7 Tamkangians elected legislators, from left to right, are Chien-Ming Ker, Kun-Chi Fu, Dr. Chih-Wei Chiu, Dr. Ju-Chun Ko, Dr. Yi-Feng Hsieh, Yu-Ching Kuo, and Chiao-Hsin Hsu. (Source: Legislative Yuan website)