Faculty, Students, and Alumni of the Physics Department Celebrate its 60th Anniversary, with Outstanding Alumni Making Significant Contributions across Industry, Government, and Academia

"Tamkang Physics - Journeying Again for Thousands of Miles": On December 24, 2023, the Department of Physics held its 60th-anniversary celebration at the Liu-Hsien Memorial Science Hall, including events in the lobby and classrooms on the 1st floor. Current faculty, retired teachers, past teaching assistants, staff, and alumni were invited to participate in the celebration and banquet. The Physics Alumni Association also conducted elections during the event, with Jian-Bang Lee, Special Assistant to the Chairman of Revlis Biotech Company Limited, elected as the new president of the association. He stated, "Despite a busy schedule, I am very willing to assist in the operations of the alumni association. I will continue to collaborate with Chair Cheng-Hao Chuang to bring new initiatives to Tamkang Physics."

The Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Hui-Huang Hsu, and the TKU Departmental Association Headquarters President, Chih-Jen Su, personally came to offer their congratulations. The Department of Physics invited past recipients of the Golden Eagle Award, including the sole recipient of the first year, Academician Maw-Kuen Wu, Chairman Wei-Been Yu of Integrated Service Technology Inc., and Chairman Solomon Chang of MIPRO Electronics, who all attended the event to celebrate. Alumni from 1963 since the establishment of the department also joined in, adding warmth and precious memories to the celebration. The first-year alumnus, San Ho Yen, who is also a retired professor from the Department of Physics, received greetings from many alumni. He greeted everyone with a warm smile, appreciating the fact that former students still remembered him and shared their current achievements and glory. This brought him great satisfaction in his teaching career at Tamkang University.

The former president of the alumni association, Sheng Qian Dai, delivered the welcoming speech, inviting alumni back to Tamsui to experience the rainy and chilly winter, but expressing that the warmth of everyone's enthusiasm remains undiminished. During the distinguished alumni sharing session, he talked about how Taiwan's semiconductor industry became the world's leader. Besides visionary policies at the time, he credited the unique decisiveness of Morris Chang, which made semiconductor wafer foundry services the most critical industry in Taiwan.

The event included the presentation of the 2023 Distinguished Alumni Awards recommended by alumni

from various cohorts. A total of 5 alumni received the Golden Eagle Award, and 46 alumni received awards for their successful careers. Professor Chuang presented the medals one by one, congratulating the alumni for their outstanding performance in the industry, government, and academia. A few awardees include Chum-Sam Hong, Chairman of United Renewable Energy Co., Ltd.; Cheng-Hung Hsu, Former General Manager of Unitech; Lin Bao-Yi, Chairman of Prolink Solutions Co., Ltd.; Wen-Long Chou, Chairman of Tyntek Corporation; Dr. Yu-Sheng Chen, Research Professor at the University of Chicago; Dr. Yuan-Ron Ma, Vice President of Dong Hwa University; and Dr. Po-Tsun Liu, Distinguished Professor at National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University.

2024/01/08



The Department of Physics is hosting its 60th-anniversary celebration at the Liu-Hsien Memorial Science Hall, inviting faculty, students, and alumni to participate in the commemorative event.



Alumni Award to Guan-Xian Chen, the Managing Director of Taiwan Applied Materials Inc.



Professor Chuang Cheng-Hao, the Chair of the Department of Physics (left), presents the Distinguished Alumni Award to Director Che-Chia Hsu, who won the Grand Prize at the 2021 Taipei Film Festival.



The Department of Physics holds its 60th-anniversary celebration at the Liu-Hsien Memorial Science Hall, with faculty, students, and alumni joyfully taking a group photo.