## 7 NEW INSTITUTES FOUNDED, TKU RESHUFFLES HER LINE-UP

Tamkang has reshuffled her lineup in which four deans of colleges and 19 department chairs have changed hands.

At the same time, seven new institutes were set up on Aug. 1 to further upgrade TKU's teaching and research quality.

Among the seven newly founded institutes, the Life Science Development Center became a catching eye news, indicating that TKU will cast her energy and vigor to tap the development of life science in the future.

Dr. Chang Horng-jinh, President of TKU, presided over a presentation and hand-changing ceremony held at the Chuehsheng International Conference Hall, Tamsui Campus on Aug. 1.

President Chang said that a life science graduate institute would be set up in 2003 on Lanyang Campus, Ilan County. The graduate institute will further promote to a rank of college in 2005 when Lanyang Campus become operational, he said.

Dr. Liao Yi-lan, a TKU alumna who obtained a doctorate degree from the Illinois University, has already nominated to head the newly founded Center.

Prof. Ke Chih-en was nominated to head the newly founded Graduate Institute of Educational Psychology and Counseling, while Prof. Chen Kuohua heading the Graduate Institute of Futures Studies. Prof. Chen Bo-chang was the Director of Center for the Study of Higher Education and Prof. Huang Ping-huan, Dean of College of Education, was acting Director of Center for Curriculum and Instruction Research.

Huang Hui-nan was appointed to chief the newly founded Publishing Center under the control of the Office of Educational Development. Wang Di-yu was the Chief of the newly set up Recruitment Section under the control of the Office of Academic Affairs.

Prof. Kao Po-yuan assumed Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, replacing outgoing Prof. Huang Shih-hsiung. Prof. Hsiao Feng-hsiung replaced Prof. Chiu Chung-jung to be Dean of the College of Business while Prof. Hsu Ding-chi replacing Prof. Tsai Hsin-fu to head the College of Technology. Hu Yi-jen took the place of Hsu Ding-chi to be Dean of Educational Development Center.

Nineteen newly-appointed chairpersons of the departments are as follows: Tsui Cheng-tsong, Department of Chinese; Chien Chuan-jen, Department of Mathematics; Chang Ching-ling, Department of Physics; Chen Chen-cheng, Department of Architecture; Chang Te-wen, Department of Civil Engineering; Kang Shang-wen, Department of Mechanical and Electro-mechanical Engineering; Yang Lung-chieh, Section of Engineering Experiment; Yu Jojung, Department of Industrial Economics; Nei Chien-chung, Department of Banking and Finance; Hau Tsung-jen, Department of Insurance; Huang Taihsin, Department of Economics; Tsai Su-ling, Department of French; Huang

Chieh-cheng, Graduate Institute of International Affairs and Strategic Studies; Kuo Chien-chung, Graduate Institute of China Studies; Kung Yichun, Graduate Institute of Southeast Asian Studies; Chiu Ta-huan, Graduate Institute of European Studies; Tzou Chong-ko, Center for International Affairs and National Security; Shing Chi-lyang, Department of Construction; and Duan Yung-ding, Center for Technological and Operational Development.

2010/09/27