FACILITATING INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION PLANS AMONG UNIVERSITIES: CHANG HORNG-JINH

Dr. Chang Horng-Jinh, former TKU president, is the convener for setting up the "Higher Education Foundation for International Cooperation". On October 15th, 2005, Ministry of Education has sanctioned the establishment of this foundation, with TKU President C. I. Chang as the Chair of the board of trustee. President C. I. Chang states that she will assist the development among various universities and work on international exchange and cooperation.

The preparatory office of the foundation calls together the Ministry of Education and 107 universities in Taiwan to donate the fund with the sum of 31 million and 50 thousand NT dollars, including 15 millions NT dollars from the Ministry of Education, 150 thousand dollars from 107 universities. The foundation was officially registered at the end of November last year.

The first Chair of the board of trustee was Dr. Chang Horng-Jinh, who handed over the position to present TKU President C. I. Chang. Representatives from Ministry of Education and presidents from various universities are invited as directors and supervisors. The members of the board for the first-year include Lee Si-Chan (NTU), Chang Chai-I (TKU), Lo Yen-Chung (National Chung-Cheng University), Cheung Re-Chan (NCCU), Mon Zong-Tsan (Shih Hsin University), Lin Shi-Min (Min-Hsin University of Science and Technology), Lin Cong-Min (YunLin University of Science and Technology), Zon Chi-Yeh (Kaohsiung Hospitality College), Chang Chin-Shaong (Southern Taiwan University of Technology), Chen Hai-Dong (TungHai University), Liu Xian-Dai (MieHo Institute of Technology), and Lu Mu-Lin (Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education), Chen De-Hwa (Director of Department of Higher Education), Chang Guo-Bao, (Director of Technolotical

of Vocational Education), Chang Ching-Sheng (head of Bureau of International and Cultural Relations). Members of supervisors include Wu Yen-Hwa (YangMing University), Chang Jun-Yen (National ChiaoTung University), Li Jian-Chu (Fu-Jen Catholic University), Yen Wen-Fan (LungHwa University of Science and Technology), and Chen Chun-Rong (Director of Accounting, Ministry of Education). Besides, Chen Hwei-Mei, Director of Office of International Exchange & International Education, is the CEO of this foundation. (~ Johnny Chu)

2010/09/27