## PRESIDENT CHEN PUBLICLY HONORED WANG MEI-LAN, WANG YUNG-HSIN,

President Chen Shui-bian publicly honored TKU's Professor Wang Meilan, Wang Yung-hsin, Kuo Bang-hsiung, and Lin Chun-zhong, who have been dedicating to education for 40 years, at the "Ceremony for Distinguished Senior Teachers" held at Youngming Mountain on September 26. In total, 73 Tamkang's teachers whose teaching careers reach 10, 20, 30 and 40 years were rewarded.

Four teachers have been teaching for 40 years; they dedicate their whole lives to education, a highly respectable achievement. Among them, Professor Wang Mei-lan and Wang Yung-hsin came to Tamkang in 1965. Wang Mei-lang once held the positions of the Chair of Department of Accounting and the Accountant-in-chief; besides teaching, she researched in stock investment and acquired the stock analyst's certificate; she also participated in Tamkang's financial and accounting administration, putting theory into practice and winning general recognition. Professor Lin Chun-chung has been teaching in various national and private universities for 40 years; his publications include papers on TEASL and more than ten books on English learning; he once was a member of examining committee at Examination Yuan and committee for screening textbooks at the National Institute for Compilation and Translation.

The other two rewarded teachers specialize in physical education. Wang Yung-hsin was the former national basketball player. Under his leadership, the man's basketball team in Tamkang won 8 championships at the College Cup. He once won the distinguished teacher's award; he, as the coach, led several Taiwan's national basketball teams to win prizes at international events. Kuo Pang-shyong was a national volleyball player. He once held the position of the umpire-in-chief at the Chunghwa Association of Volleyball, currently serving as a member of committee of rules for umpires. Thee awards he won include two times of distinguished umpire and 1991's distinguished teacher (by the Ministry of Education).

Award of Distinguished Teacher is given from the Ministry of Education to those who have been teaching for the full years of 10 to 40 with excellent records. Award-winning teachers receive several prizes and souvenirs from the President, the Prime Minister and the Minister of Education.

Senior teachers teaching for 30 years include Tseng Chao-hsu, Wang Pangshyong, Hong Zu-chang, Chi Jung-chang, Chang Horng-jinh, Wang Wen-jwu, Lin Kuang-nan, Hu Wen-hsiung, Sun Su-er, and Kuo Juii-fang; 13 for 20 years: Liang Wen-jung, Shih Kuo-kung, Wou Wei, Ho Chim-lan, Huang Ming-da, Chen Yi-yin, Lin Gwo-geng, Liu Shun-Chieh, Lin I-chen, Yeh Fung-huei, Hsieh Shun-chin, Wu Hsiu-fen, Hong His-ming; and 46 for ten years. (~ Han-yu Huang)

2010/09/27