## VOTING FOR STUDENT COUNCIL MEMBERS STARTS TOMORROW

Voting for student council chair, deputy chair and members will get under way from tomorrow onwards until May 12, when results will be announced at 8 pm at the Student Activity Center. This year, there are two pairs running for the chair and deputy chair, while 17 candidates registered for members.

Candidates running for the chair and deputy chair had their proposed policy heard in the election campaign held on May 4th in front of the Business Management Building at noon. The first pair, Tien Nian-hong, a sophomore at the Aerospace Engineering Department, and Huang Kuan-ting at the Department of Banking and Finance propose for a better communication for all levels—between the students and the university as well among various student bodies such as union, council, departmental associations and clubs. They suggest that similar clubs should coordinate and cooperate better by hosting joint-events to attract more crowds and thus interest from students in joining a club. They will also have an eye on university's efforts in increasing nighttime security, updating housing information and safeguarding students' overall safety.

The second pair, Yang Yu-terng at the Department of Management and Decision Making and Lee Kuan-ying at the Department of Banking and Finance, on the other hand, believe in greater autonomy for the student bodies. They think that bodies set up by the students, run by the students and for the students are fundamental for any democratic system on campus. For that purpose, they propose that students should have effective measures of having their voice heard on the internet, and the running of the budget should be much more transparent so as to be accessible to the public. Apart from the issue of system, they also promised to fight for expansion of parking space, extension of activity hours for clubs,

updating the standard at Sung-tao Food Court and establishment of a security force patrolling the campus.

Candidates running for council members are one representative from the College of liberal Arts; one from the College of Foreign Languages and Literatures; one from the College of International Studies; four from the College of Business; five from the College of Management; one from the College of Sciences; and finally four from the College of Engineering. (~ Ying-hsueh Hu)

2010/09/27