## TKU TEAM WIN PRIZES AND 400,000 NT IN SEMICONDUCTOR DESIGN COMPETITION

A team of 14 teachers and students from the Dept. of Electrical Engineering won the First Prize in "The 4th Golden Silicon Award—Competition of the Design and Application of Semiconductor," plus one Excellence Prize and two Merit Prizes in "2004 College Competition of Semiconductor Design." The prize money adds up to 400,000 NT dollars.

Led by Prof. Ching-chang Wong, team "Innovative," which consists of two graduate students (Wei-wen Wang and Ya-ling Lee), and one undergraduate (Sheng-hui Wu), won the first place and 300,000 NT with their "USB Remote Control Game Platform." Their original and eye-catching work not only attracted most of the camera shots but also charmed Dr. Yuan T. Lee, President of Academia Sinica, to play it with admiration.

Team member Ya-ling Lee emphasized that "USB Remote Control Game Platform" was the first digitally calculated, multiple orientated game moving system in the world. By using three motors to control the speed and direction, the system can steer the robot to move to any direction and angle, and create many difficult movements such as flash-light running, 8curve circling, and exact target circling. "This is a real object game platform. The players maneuver the robots to kick the ball by USB remote control pad" Lee added.

Lee indicated that such a research project had high potential for further development and application, including in education, entertainment, and motor transportation. The future development of such a research could induce a revolution in transportation. The movement in car and in game will be very different hence.

Prof. Jen-Shiun Chiang, chair of Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Prof. Kuo-hsing Cheng, and Prof. Ching-Chang Wong led and directed graduate and undergraduate students to partake the "2004 College Competition of Semiconductor Design" sponsored by Ministry of Education. All the participants gathered at National Chiao Tung University. The organizer of the competition issued the topic at the gathering, and then every group designed their work in twelve hours, which tested both the participants' specialty and their willpower.

Kai-pei Chang and Chieh-jung Chang, directed by Prof. Jen-Shiun Chiang, won Excellence Prize in "Full Custom Design"; two teams, Chan-wei Huang and Che-yiao Liao, and Yi-chong Lee and Yu-cheng Song respectively won Merit Prize; Cheng-hao Huang and Ch'uei-hsien Lee won "Altera FPGA Complete Design Award."

2010/09/27



Team members of "Innovative" (from left: Wei-wen Wang, second year graduate, Ya-ling Lee, second year graduate, and Sheng-hui Wu, junior) demonstrate their work, which wins the first prize in "The 4th Golden Silicon Award."